Paris : a concentration of wealth, knowledge and people

Beyond the clichés, the Greater Paris Region is now one of the largest cities in the world and is the focus of 30% of the nation’s wealth and 20% of the population, within an area that only accounts for 2% of France. It is a young city, well-educated and with a high level of permeability for international trade. It is a world city …

Paris, Megacity …

As the top economic region in France, the Greater Paris Region is also highly ranked at a European level.With a GDP of €612 billion, or 5% of the European Union’s GDP, the city is positioned as a major economic force.
The density of its rail network, motorways and its airport structure, which forms a hub for the French and European air fleet, make it a confluence point for international transport.
It is also one of the most attractive regions in Europe in terms of foreign investment and is home to major international companies, research centres, exhibitions, professional congresses, etc and accounts for significant tourist flows.
Even though the tertiary sector dominates, the region’s economy is particularly diverse and has a highly skilled workforce.
From an administrative perspective, Paris and its region are no exception to the traditional “multi-layered French administration”. The Greater Paris Region comprises 8 “départements”, including Inner Paris which is both a “département” and a city in its own right. Each “département” is made up of a number of towns.Paris is made up of 20 “arrondissements”, or districts.

Paris in the world

Paris : une concentration de richesses, de savoirs et d’hommes

Au-delà des clichés, l’Ile-de-France est aujourd’hui l’une des plus grandes métropoles du monde qui concentre près de 30% de la richesse nationale et 20% de la population, sur un territoire qui ne représente que 2% de la superficie de la France. C’est une ville jeune, éduquée et fortement perméable aux échanges internationaux.

Une ville monde …

Première région économique française, l’Ile-de-France occupe également une place de premier ordre au niveau européen. Avec un PIB de 612 milliards d’euros, soit 5 % du PIB de l’Union européenne, la métropole se positionne comme un acteur économique majeur.
La densité de son réseau ferroviaire, autoroutier et sa structure aéroportuaire, plaque tournante du réseau aérien français et européen, en font un point de convergence pour les transports internationaux.
Il s’agit également d’une des régions les plus attractives d’Europe en matière d’investissements étrangers, d’accueil de grandes entreprises internationales, de centres de Recherche, de flux touristiques, d’organisation de salons, de congrès professionnels…etc.
Même si le secteur tertiaire prédomine, l’économie francilienne est particulièrement diversifiée et sa main-d’œuvre est hautement qualifiée.
D’un point de vue administratif, Paris et sa région ne font pas figure d’exception au traditionnel « millefeuille administratif français ». La région Ile-de-France se compose de 8 départements, dont Paris intra-muros est à la fois un département et une ville à elle seule. Chaque département se compose de plusieurs communes. Paris se compose, elle, de 20 arrondissements.

Paris dans le monde