Métropole du Grand Paris (MGP)

The Métropole du Grand Paris (MGP) forms part of the Grand Paris project which began in 2007. The MGP was created by the MAPTAM law (modernisation of territorial public action and affirmation of metropoles) on 27 January 2014 and was further strengthened by the NOTRe law (new territorial organisation for the Republic) on 7 August 2015. The MGP’s aim is defined in article L.5219-1 I, paragraph 5 of the general code for collectivités territoriales: “The Metropole du Grand Paris was formed to define and implement metropolitan action with the aim of improving the environment for residents, reducing inequality between the territories concerned and developing a sustainable urban, social and economic model as a means for improving attractiveness and competitiveness to the benefit of the nation as a whole.”

The MGP comprises the city of Paris and 130 towns, mainly located in the Inner Suburbs, which form 12 territories. The MGP has been operational since 1 January 2016 and its first elected president is Patrick Ollier (Deputy Mayor of Rueil-Malmaison). 62 advisers are based at the MGP which is governed by a Metropolitan Council formed of 209 elected representatives with at least one representative per town.

The MGP is set to acquire responsibility as it develops: environment and economic development in 2016, then town planning and housing in 2017 with a full set of functions by 2020. It also starts with a budget capped at €70 million whereas the budget for the Greater Paris Region is €5 billion.



Territory name Cities Population
T1 Paris 2 240 621
T2 Antony, Bagneux, Bourg-la-Reine, Châtenay-Malabry, Châtillon, Clamart, Fontenay-aux-Roses, Malakoff, Montrouge, Le Plessis-Robinson, Sceaux 390 314
T3 Grand Paris Seine Ouest Boulogne-Billancourt, Chaville, Issy-les-Moulineaux, Marnes-la-Coquette, Meudon, Sèvres, Vanves, Ville-d’Avray 310 498
T4 Courbevoie, Garches, La Garenne-Colombes, Levallois-Perret, Nanterre, Neuilly-sur-Seine, Puteaux, Rueil-Malmaison, Saint-Cloud, Suresnes, Vaucresson 559 827
T5 Asnières-sur-Seine, Bois-Colombes, Clichy, Colombes, Gennevilliers, Villeneuve-la-Garenne, Argenteuil 430 757
T6 Plaine Commune Aubervilliers, La Courneuve, Épinay-sur-Seine, L’Île-Saint-Denis, Pierrefitte-sur-Seine, Saint-Denis, Saint-Ouen, Stains, Villetaneuse 411 367
T7 Aulnay-sous-Bois, Le Blanc-Mesnil, Le Bourget, Drancy, Dugny, Sevran, Tremblay-en-France, Villepinte 346 268
T8 Est ensemble Bagnolet, Bobigny, Bondy, Les Lilas, Montreuil, Noisy-le-Sec, Pantin, Le Pré-Saint-Gervais, Romainville 399 300
T9 Clichy-sous-Bois, Coubron, Gagny, Gournay-sur-Marne, Livry-Gargan, Montfermeil, Neuilly-Plaisance, Neuilly-sur-Marne, Noisy-le-Grand, Les Pavillons-sous-Bois, Le Raincy, Rosny-sous-Bois, Vaujours, Villemomble 381 791
T10 Bry-sur-Marne, Champigny-sur-Marne, Charenton-le-Pont, Fontenay-sous-Bois, Joinville-le-Pont, Maisons-Alfort, Nogent-sur-Marne, Le Perreux-sur-Marne, Saint-Mandé, Saint-Maur-des-Fossés, Saint-Maurice, Villiers-sur-Marne, Vincennes 500 132
T11 Alfortville, Boissy-Saint-Léger, Bonneuil-sur-Marne, Chennevières-sur-Marne, Créteil, Limeil-Brévannes, Mandres-les-Roses, Marolles-en-Brie, Noiseau, Ormesson-sur-Marne, Périgny, Le Plessis-Trévise, La Queue-en-Brie, Santeny, Sucy-en-Brie, Villecresnes 302 926
T12 Athis-Mons, Juvisy-sur-Orge, Morangis, Paray-Vieille-Poste, Savigny-sur-Orge, Viry-Châtillon, Ablon-sur-Seine, Arcueil, Cachan, Chevilly-Larue, Choisy-le-Roi, Fresnes, Gentilly, L’Haÿ-les-Roses, Ivry-sur-Seine, Le Kremlin-Bicêtre, Orly, Rungis, Thiais, Valenton, Villejuif, Villeneuve-le-Roi, Villeneuve-Saint-Georges, Vitry-sur-Seine 671 505